NDA govt wins Bihar trust vote; can PM guarantee Nitish won’t do another volte-face, asks Tejashwi

The Nitish Kumar-led NDA government in Bihar won a vote of confidence in the assembly on Monday. The new government secured 129 votes amid a walkout by the opposition members. The Bihar assembly has a strength of 243 MLAs.Earlier in the day, Bihar Speaker Awadh Bihari Chaudhary was removed from his post in a trust vote, with 125 MLAs voting in favour of the no-confidence motion against the Bihar Assembly Speaker and 112 members voting against it. BJP MLA Nandkishore Yadav moved the no-confidence motion against the Speaker.Chaudhary, who belongs to the RJD, had refused to step down after his party lost power a fortnight ago when Chief Minister Nitish Kumar once again snapped ties with ‘Mahagathbandhan’ (grand alliance) and returned to the BJP-led coalition.Meanwhile, the Rashtriya Janata Dal, which has lost power in Bihar, received a jolt inside the Bihar assembly on Monday, where at least three of its members sat on the ruling party benches.RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav raised a point of order, taking objection to party MLAs Chetan Anand, Neelam Devi, and Prahlad Yadav sitting among members of the ruling NDA, ahead of voting on a no-confidence motion against Speaker Awadh Bihari Chaudhary.However, no ruling was given on the point of order by Deputy Speaker Maheshwar Hazari, who was in the chair.

Source link